thistledown


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-26 - 5:11 p.m.

We're in the midst of some kind of deep freeze, weather wise. It is so cold, that all I seem to be able to think about is my coldness. Or at least it is a part of every thought, such as in the thought: "I'm cold and... I guess I'll do some laundry." This is an old house, and even if we could afford to crank up the heat, it would still be drafty and chilly. (And we can't anyway.... afford it that it.) So we kind of huddle in a room with one of the electric space heaters, wearing lots of sweaters. Outside the sky is clear, but even the warm colors look frigid and the sun seems brittle and far away. Patches of gray snow still cling here and there, solidly unmelted for most of a week now.

The cold is making my shoulder ache. Years ago I was in an accident that broke my left shoulder, upper arm, and elbow. It all healed up of course, but it was never really quite as strong again, and sometimes in cold weather it aches. I'm having trouble playing the guitar, and have been somewhat discouraged with my progress. But I keep telling myself not to give up, that I can't possibly make that decision until I have taken lessons for at least a year. Mr. Guitar teacher is still infinitely patient, and especially understanding after I owned up to the reason for my lack of practice. Although he had an incredulous look on his face, as though he was having a little trouble understanding why someone over fifty with a messed up shoulder would even WANT to study the guitar. I guess I am just stubborn. I am not ready to feel like I can't do something I want to do.

It sounds like I am complaining, but I'm not really, because I have a strange liking for the depths of winter. I suppose it is one of the few times that I feel "off the hook" for getting a lot done. Normally I am a very energetic sort of person, who on most any weekend is spinning around a magnificent list of THINGS TO DO. But in the winter it seems natural to me to have some calmer and cozier times. So this weekend, I guess I have been nurturing my inner house cat. I'm sitting at my desk which looks out over the back yard and out across the city, just waching the day slowly change, the smoke from a far-off smokestack drift gently into the thin pale sky. And feeling a strange sort of contentment with my little corner of the big cold world at this moment.

Anyway, here's my list of Things I Like About Winter:

Being cold is a really good excuse to cozy up on the couch with the fleece blankets.

I like sleeping in a cold room with a lot of covers.

I like the stark and minimal look of bare trees and dried grass.

Long nights are good for having sleep-a-thons.

It is easier to heat the house than to cool it.

Wool sweaters, turtlenecks, jeans and boots are my favorite kinds of clothes.

I like dark and warm colors, and soft fabrics like velvet and corduroy and fleece and flannel.

My hair isn't out of control when there is low humidity.

I like winter foods: thick stews, soups and chili..... and things that bake for a long time in the oven, warming the kitchen and making the house smell good.

Warming the hands on a hot cup of cocoa, tea, or coffee.

It is a long time until Christmas.

I don't have to work in the yard.

All of the mosquitos and fleas are dead.

I don't have to shave my legs as often.

I can call in sick to work and it doesn't seem odd because there is always something "going around." (I rarely actually get sick, but sometimes I give myself a "bonus" for staying well.)

The neighbors are not having outdoor parties, and nobody is out at night playing loud music and driving up and down the streets for entertainment.

I have a good excuse for not keeping the car clean.

I don't have to look at anyone's toes or see more than I want to of other people in skimpy outfits.

The TV room is the warmest room in the house, so it is easy to justify watching movies.

previous - next

< ? Random Acts of Journaling # >

alchera ? !

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!